Upon the election of the Sangguniang Kabataan Officials, the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) conducted the SK Mandatory Training participated by eighteen (18) SK Chairpersons and their SK members at the IFSU Review Center last May25, 2018.

The said activity aims to enhance the leadership capability of participants and brief them of RA10742, otherwise, known as the “Sangguniang Kabataan Reform Act of 2015”, fulfilling the SK Tagline; “Simulan Natin ang Bagong SK.”

Topics discussed included the overview of RA 10742, Planning, Budgeting, and Parliamentary Procedure. The one-day activity ended with the oath-taking of all officials who officially took office on July 1, 2018.

Furthermore, building up camaraderie and unity among the SK Chairpersons, the DILG in partnership with the National Youth Commission and the Municipal Local Government Unit also facilitated a two-day team-building activity for the 18 SK Chairpersons, May 26-27.

The team-building activity was also a preparation for the election of SK Federation Officers conducted on the same day, facilitated by the BES with the presence of the PNP-Lamut. The result of the election is as follows: Honorable Jake Louie B. Casumpang of Poblacion East, President; Honorable Krislyne A. Puhi of Bimpal, Vice President; Honorable Kerajie Ryne D. Bimmulog of Panopdopan, Secretary; Honorable Gian Carlo Carino of Lawig, Treasurer; Honorable Andrew James G. Camat of Mabatobato, Auditor; Honorable Sheryl B. Dum-an of Holowon, PIO; and Honorable Mark Lexer T. Lomboy of Salamague, Sentinel.